Four Board Members Of LMP Resign

  • 19 Apr 2018 11:28 AM
  • Hungary Matters
Four Board Members Of LMP Resign
Erzsébet Schmuck, Péter Ungár, István Ferenczi and Júlia Ábrahám have tendered their resignations in green opposition LMP’s board so the party could bring forward its congress for electing new officials to late May, the party said.

Former co-chair Ákos Hadházy tendered his resignation on the night of the April 8 general election and Csaba György Szoboszlay was elected a board member at the end of last year after Andrea Jancsó had resigned. 

There were five personnel changes in the nine-member body in the recent period so it is reasonable to hold a vote on all officials, Schmuck said earlier in the day. 

In line with the party’s statutes, changing the party structure cannot be included in the agenda of the next congress. However, the new board can prepare a comprehensive amendment to the statutes during the summer, she added.

MTI Photo: Szigetváry Zsolt

  • How does this content make you feel?

XpatLoop Media Partner

Hungary Matters

Launched in January 2014, this twice-daily newsletter covers 'everything you need to know about what’s going on in Hungary and beyond', according to its publisher the state media agency MTI. Click the title above for more info, and to subscribe.